Coffee Roasting by Gerhard A. Jansen

I read a little about this book in the recent edition of Roast magazine. The author, Gerhard Jansen has worked for Probat for quite a some time – so he should be quite an authority on the subject. Suprisingly, the book is pretty cheap – €14.90 and published in both German and English and available from Amazon.de.

If anyone has read this, I’d be keen on hearing your views. I should buy it really, but i don’t want to end up with another “basic” book.

~ by E-83 on June 7, 2007.

7 Responses to “Coffee Roasting by Gerhard A. Jansen”

  1. It is quite scientific – a bit like the roasting chapter in the Illy book. By no means basic though I really should give it a thorough read, wish I had more time!

  2. Ahh Mr. Hoffman!
    My cyber-laziness has resulted in me posting about a book that you’ve already brought to the peeps’ attention. Apologies! I need to get around this web a little more often! Hope you having fun in the US of A?

  3. Do you know who I can buy the book from in the USA?

  4. I’m afraid I don’t! Roast Magazine doesn’t give a US contact – they don’t actually give any contact name or number. The link for Amazon.de (above) should take you straight to the page selling the English version, and shipping to the States should be pretty painless.

  5. I’ve just finished struggling my way through it, and I have to say that it’s more a contribution to science than a roasting handbook (which is what I was hoping for). The language is so difficult (even for Englishmen I would expect) and scientific, that it overshadows the messages, I think. I much prefer reading my Roast magazine – it’s useful and straightforward. So if you want to give Gerhards book a go, Elliott, I’ll be happy to send you my copy! (for good)

    • Hi,

      I know it has been a long time ago.

      However, I am looking for the book: Coffee Roasting by Gerhard A. Jansen

      Let me know if you are willing to sell it.

      My email address is eddy_tansil@hotmail.com

      Thank you,
      Eddy.

  6. I am interested in purchasing this book if anybody is interested in selling. Thanks Maria Kruger

Leave a Reply

 
