Graphical Roast Profile Sheet

Each Saturday, once I’ve finished the “to do” list, I find somewhere quiet to scan the paper. I especially look forward to Robert Crampton’s Beta Male column at the back of the Times Magazine, and have enjoyed this for a while now.

In doing so, I have noticed that ol’ Bob and I share a few things in common. The one I’m referring to here is the most joyous of activities: the collation of data. But wait, the fun doesn’t stop there! From this data one can draw up the jewel in the statistical crown – the graph!

To get a better idea of what’s happening to the coffee during the roast process, it is naturally good to note all the information of that particular roast. The problem I’ve always found is that I’m always too forgetful to accurately get each bit of info. Even if I do manage, then I can’t really picture what’s really going on. If you get what I mean?

This is where the trusty graph comes in. Not only does it allow you to (fairly accurately) guestimate the bean temp at any given point during your roast (provided you do actually note a few readings!), but also provides an easy way of doing so, and gives a good visual representation of the roast.

In using this, I aim to take readings every minute, though have noticed that generally, regardless of roast size, the beans should reach their lowest temperature around 1:30, so I usually take a reading there.

This is a work in progress and I will make a nicer, more refined version later, so bear with me. I made the temperature scale go to 460 Fahrenheit, and the time to 20 minutes, only because this kind of thing is most useful when experimenting and trying new things. Don’t go thinking that I’m a closet Bake’n’Burn French Roast man! Oh no.

Oh, and there’s a Celsius graph too. Though I haven’t had the chance to try that out yet, so again, bear with me.

Graphical Roast Profile Sheet (Fahrenheit)

Graphical Roast Profile Sheet (Celsius)

Edit: I’ve just noticed that I forgot to add roast size/weight to the sheet. Will sort this out after work today, so it should be corrected by tomorrow. Also tried out the Celsius chart. It could do with increasing the temp range both up and down, so will try to sort this also. Might reduce max roast time to 18 mins, allowing more room for the notes on the right.

~ by E-83 on September 4, 2007.

One Response to “Graphical Roast Profile Sheet”

  1. can i have some roating profile graphs for different temp of roastings of different types of beans

Leave a Reply

 
